The 2003 Hyundai Tiburon Review

5 10 2007

So after months of fruitless search with Mitsubishis and Hondas, upon my suggestion of a Hyundai, my girlfriend finally got the car she wanted. Well she actually bought it a month ago but forgot to post about the car. So she paid around $9,500 for a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon with 60,500 miles on the odometer with a 2.0 liter inline-4 cylinder engine. Tiburon is Spanish for Shark and the overall look of the car does sorta kinda looks like one although the Korean manufacturer made no secret of the fact that they based the external look of this car on the “supafly” Ferrari 456GT.

The most important part about this car is that it’s NOT silver as silver cars are harder to see and therefore are more likely to get into an accident (not backed up by data) just cuz the color just blends in with almost anything and our eyes often miss it. If it weren’t for all those “street-racers” and the numerous traffic incidents they’ve got themselves into, silver would be the deadliest color one could possibly pick for a car. But that’s not true so we have cars like neon green and bright red etc listed on the “most dangerous” category.

Back to the Tiburon. 4 years back, this car was priced at a little over $16,000 so it depreciated by around 40% which is pretty darn good. There were a few scratches and a small dent but the dealership was more than eager to get it’s hands on Kaci’s money so they fixed it all up before handing her the keys. So this one’s got a working air-conditioner (unlike the Dodge Caravan or the Dodge Neon) and a CD-player which is lacked on both of the other cars.

My take on the ’03 Tiburon is that it’s rather nice. A 2-door coupe with a manageable 2.0 liter and 130hp directed to it’s front wheels and dual chrome tipped exhausts complete with 16″ wheels is a nice deal. The automatic tranny is a deal breaker though. I would’ve much preferred having a stick shift (manual) transmission but for Kaci, an automatic gearbox is the perfect choice. Not too keen on the major bumpage on the hood on either side leading to the headlights. I would much rather have the engine area on the hood have the bump.

Drove it. Not bad. The automatic box had a manumatic setting which lets gear heads like myself do shifting but it’s kinda lame. Rear visibility isn’t the greatest and the blindspots are humongous. The good thing about the ’03 Tibby is that it looks nice in person and the engine lets you go where you point it without much of a fuss. The interior is nice looking but the dash plastic is hard. Maybe not as cheap as the Chevy Aveo or Cobalt plastic but nonetheless, it’s hard plastic which ain’t exactly cool looking. When you sit down on the seats, you feel like you’re sinking into a pit due to the lower seat location and the high-rise window locations. The racing bucket styled seats were comfortable and speakers were very loud and crisp.

Don’t have other complaints other than what I’ve listed. Hyundai did release a slightly revised ’08 Tiburon with the minor changes in the front nose but they’re basically the same car. All in all, this is the best Tiburon from Hyundai and my girlfriend is very happy.

Actions

Information

12 responses

8 10 2007
Kaci

what a sexy looking car ^^

8 10 2007
ninjatales

I agree. Now will it remain sexy after a year?

12 10 2007
Tokyobob

Can I have your car?

12 10 2007
Carly

Okay if anyone is seriously thinking of buying a Tiberon…here’s the info that I would have wanted to read before I bought one, though I don’t think it would have prevented me from purchasing it 2 years ago.

It’s hard to see the blind spots. During my first week in the car, a person had to honk at me when I was shifting lanes on the freeway because I didn’t see him. My engine check light comes on and off, but there doesn’t seem to be anything wrong with the car. I feel very low in the car and get nervous around big cars, and well there’s soooo many large cars, which is a little ironic in light of Al Gore and his team winning the Nobel Peace Prize for their work on global warming (huge applause to them btw). I’ve been having problems with my keyless entry function too, but not sure whether to blame the previous owner or the dealership. You can’t open the passenger side before the drivers side which is a little silly too. BUT overall I love the car. I feel sexy driving it and my friends are impressed.

Overall synopsis. It has a few kinks but not any serious ones that I’ve had to worry about. It’s easy and fun to drive and makes my long commutes to work less painful. I’d say my tiberon has and will continue to treat me well for a few more years still.

19 02 2008
ninjatales

Kaci had the same engine check light problem. She took it back to the dealership and they fixed it to her while handing over the keys to a Suzuki XL7 as a loaner.

The passenger door. You had to push the “open” key twice.

9 06 2009
Daniel

Im thinking of buying a tiburon for $3000, 2003 and only 59000 miles…

13 10 2009
tanner

hey, im thinking about getting one of these. just wondering can u put the seat up like not towards the pedals but vertically?

10 12 2009
markvidal

It has been exactly two years since I purchased my black 2003 Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 and I have to say, I’m still pleased with it. It had 73,000 miles and I paid $9,999-for the base price. I traded in my 2005 Dodge Neon-which only had around 20,000 miles for it because as most people know, Neons suck! The car was practically new and the transmission completely went out on the freeway. Luckily the manufacturer’s warranty was still active so I didn’t have to pay for repairs. It was bad enough calling the Neon my own, but the transmission put me over the top. I had to be done with it.

More on the Tiburon: It now has 93,000 miles on it and still drives the same…nice and peppy. I do get the “check engine” light every once in a while but it seriously does not mean anything. My mom has an ’02 Accent and the light comes on at least twice a year-nothing ever happens. It eventually goes off.

There are only a couple issues with the car I wish to fix…last month the airbag light came on which indicates that they must be broken. Also, my Infinity speakers are totally shot…my rear subwoofer generates a loud distorted buzz that interferes with bass and all the speakers on the right side of the car are almost out. I feel like I’m going deaf on one side.

Other than that, I haven’t had any major issues with it. I love this car very much. I replaced the “H” logo with premium “T” logo (Tuscani), which can be purchased online, and painted my calipers red. It looks very sweet-people ALWAYS ask me what kind of car it is.

Having leather seats, leather steering wheel, sunroof and cruise among other features only make it more fun to drive. The car is a bit heavy, but it can take off quite quickly when you accelerate.

I recommend this car to anyone. Make it your own, keep up with maintenance and you two should be happy together.

18 10 2010
Kyle

I could not agree more with this post, I usually do not comment on blogs but I had to on this topic as it shows a good bit of knowledge on a subject that is usually misrepresented.
Excellent blog and excellent post! Keep up the good work!
-Kyle
Orlando Transmission Repair

29 12 2010
Hyundia tiberon | AdCosmos

[…] The 2003 Hyundai Tiburon Review « NinjaTales BlogSo she paid around $9500 for a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon with 60500 miles on the odometer with a 2.0 liter inline-4 cylinder engine. … […]

6 12 2011
le tableau

hi, that’s a overnice send. There is any mistakes but the principal is here.

9 06 2013
www.mitsubishi-club.org

Ok, enough said. This was probably the best article I have read on The 2003 Hyundai Tiburon Review | NinjaTales Blog today and I often do research daily on
the subject of creative writing scholarships. Thanks for
sharing with the world. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

