Why are small town cops useless?

19 11 2007

All the time we hear horror stories about cops and their power-trips. Sometimes, they get inhumanely excusably violent and other times, they exhibit a lack of common sense in their judgment. I’m glad I didn’t fall into the former category but I did get pulled over on Saturday late afternoon by a cop in a black Charger out in the middle of nowhere aka Clara City – Minnesota.

 

The Location: I was driving down south on Highway MN-23 towards Granite Falls and then later down to Marshall, Minnesota. Hwy 23’s posted speed limit goes from 55-65 mph depending on where you are and I was cruising just fine at 60 mph when we saw a sign that said “Reduced Speed Ahead” right by the “CLARA CITY – population 1393.” So I cut off the cruise and started applying brakes. 45 mph said the speed posted. 1 block later 40 mph. I was traveling at a “fast” speed of 44 mph. 2 blocks ahead was a sign that said 30 mph but I only noticed that just as I was passing it. The strange thing is this town is roughly 6 blocks along the highway and had 3 different posted signs and not a soul in sight. When you enter it’s 45, then 40, then 30. Just as I was about to slow down, I see lights flashing off a handsome looking black Dodge Charger on my rear-view.

 

The Encounter: I pull over and the cop takes his sweet time of roughly 2 minutes and comes strolling out to the Hyundai Tiburon. I hand over the license and proof of insurance. He hands me back the insurance card and asks me if I knew why I was being pulled over. I offered “was I speeding Officer?” as my answer to which he agreed and added that I was driving 45 mph on a 30 mph zone. I told him I didn’t see the sign until it was too late and “was just about to slow down” when he came out of hiding.

 

Cop Lies: He ignored my feeble but honest excuse and then lied to substantiate his power over me by making the accusation that I drove past THREE 30 mph signs. Neither my girlfriend or I could recall THREE SIGNS because at 45 mph on an empty street with no signs of life, all the little things come into focus and we only saw ONE sign that had the “30 mph” posted. The only reason we almost missed it was because it was only like 150 ft away from the 40 mph sign. Didn’t expect one so fast right away like that. They couldn’t possibly have fitted in TWO other 30 mph signposts in between. This didn’t add up but at the time I gave him the benefit of the doubt since he was an “officer of the law” and I didn’t want to end up on one of those COPS videos.

 

Then he made a comment on our clothes to which I tell him that we were headed out to my former boss’ wedding (and were getting late) over in Marshall before he made a retreat to his car. Late that night when we drove back through the same town, we counted the signs and there was only ONE 30 mph sign post.


Click here to view the Clara City map and location where I was pulled over.

 

Common sense isn’t very common: Here’s the deal. While we were pulled over, there was a 40 mph sign about 1-2 blocks ahead of me. If I’d gone 1-2 blocks further down at the same speed which is like 3-7 seconds, I would once again be at the right speed limit. The cop had my license for a good 10 or more minutes before he came out again and handed me a $142 speeding citation. He told me that he gave me the maximum speeding fine for going 15 above the posted limit and that I could pay the fine, go to court and appeal it, or sign-up to go to a driving school down by Clara City for $75 which would take away the speeding incident from my driving record. The whole time, he kept repeating “You understand?” after every few words as though I had a hearing impediment. I can take (racist) bullshit like that from white people but not when they’re looking down at me and taking advantage of me financially at the same time.

 

 

Heartless Cops in Small Towns: For a first time speeder, how could they even have the heart to give out the maximum fine. The streets were empty and devoid of any traffic stop lights or stop signs. We were heading to a wedding traveling over TWO HOURS south and were tired and weary. This instantly gives out a bad experience to any traveler who decides to go through small towns including the girlfriend and I.

 

Do understand that throughout the encounter with the cop, I was very respectful in my words and actions AND I complied with everything he said. That being said, I just didn’t think he would dole-out a fine to somebody who has never ever been pulled over for speeding. I’ve seen COPS a million times where officers let first time offenders off the hook if it’s something minor. In some cases, when there’s a safety law broken, the kids are let go off with a verbal. It did not quite translate to that in my case unfortunately.

 

Good Cop Bad Cop: The real duty of cops are to ensure safety in communities by enforcing the law. As human beings, cops should use common sense to base their actions while policing the neighborhood.

 

A good cop would let me off the hook with no fine other than a verbal/written warning because he/she knows that once I’ve been reminded of the law, I should be fearful of the rules of that town and the subsequent towns I will have to drive through. All that would stem from the fact that I was respectful towards the police officer, I complied with their demands, and I accepted my fault. To add to it, I was not a threat to anybody since the streets were vacant and there were no traffic lights or stop signs. A violation in the future will ensure I get a ticket for knowingly breaking the law.

 

A bad cop does his job down to the detail. 14 mph is close enough to 15 mph so slapping the maximum fine of $142 is fair game to them along with a few lies here and there to strengthen their case to the frightened victim.

 

Disillusionment: Uniform clad law enforcement officials quite often attempt to create a stark contrast in division among people. The small mistakes made by citizens are made punishable to the extent that it creates resentment and disillusionment towards authority which can lead to bigger problems in the future. No wonder why many people hate cops. It is my simple belief that the actions of a few affect many and in my case, the “bad cops” are a shame to the majority of the cops who are honest, hardworking, good folks who’re doing their job to make their community safer and better.

 

Personal Opinion: To be honest, I don’t have a shard of respect left for the officer who gave me the $142 citation. He saw TWO well dressed Asians in a shiny nice looking sports car from “the cities” and the male driver was very courteous and a possible easy push-over so must’ve automatically thought “rich Asian kids” to justify the guilt trip he might face later on. All I can say is I hope his karma catches up on him someday but I will make sure to put the CITY of CLARA (population 1393) in Minnesota on my list as one of the places to never go back or even pass by again (other than the “driving class” program I have to attend). A police officer is an official representative of his town/city and I felt this one brought out a very negative image of Clara.

 

Questions: If cops do not exercise a gray area for enforcing the law, do we even need human cops? Are robots/cyborgs better alternatives to the current law enforcement teams once the technology is viable because they could do the same job cheaper and more efficient?


Actions

Information

20 responses

14 01 2008
Lying Cops and the Driver Awareness Program « NinjaTales Blog

[…] previous argument was that I was lied to by a law-abiding police officer and because it would be my first speeding […]

12 08 2008
Brian

I think for the most part Cops are OK. I have had several cops in the family and have served in the Chicago PD years ago when Al and Bugs were here. Some of my family lost their life in the Chicago PD. God Bless them. However some of the suburbs dont have a clue. The Barrington cops are ignorrant, and dumb. I shure would hate to need their help in an emegency. For the most part Cops today are Angry People, and it shows. Why do they give an angry person a gun and a badge?

19 01 2009
john

Have to take the opposing view to Brian…I feel cops for the most part are NOT ok, there is a small minority of cops that somehow manage the stigma that cops are public serverants, there for the greater good of society.

In my experience the vast majority of cops I have come across are on such a power trip, they are indeed a hazzard to society. Especially, the small town jokes…the ones that are so incompetent or dangerous, larger towns wont allow them on their force.

The hippies had it right all along, cops are PIGS!

20 08 2009
Anonymous

yep

23 06 2009
ziggy easkachuk

all american cops are ASSHOLES/the only good ones are in cemeteries

4 10 2009
HT

I applaud your bravery for speaking out and posting the map. I live in the small town of Denham Springs, LA.. As you go through the heart of town you are forced into a bottle neck and the speed drops from 45 mph to 25 mph without warning. This is just the the beginning of the harassment. The officers wait around a curve either to catch you speeding or they are checking out your seat-belt compliance and the date of your vehicle safety sticker. The whole premise of the 25 mph speed zone is to catch as many people as possible on one of the three offenses. I gladly smile and nod as I pass these losers because I am always in compliance. In my heart I am waving the finger at them. These have got to be the laziest cops on earth! The only thing missing is the doughnuts.

6 05 2010
card

yeah i just got pulled over by two young cops for a headlight that was supposivly out, my insurance was renewed that day so the paper didnt come in the mail yet, so he kept asking if i was smoking weed 3 times while asking the usal, he said that the paper i had was expiered (by a hour it was 1 am i shit you not) so i asked him if he could run the numbers (knowing its paid) he let me off with a warning and i said next time it happens hes going to file all charges, i checked when i got home my headlight wasnt out. i have no prob with city cops but when i come to these back water towns its pull over every fucking thing, someone needs to give the cops a real reason to be a asshole.

30 07 2010
Bart

So from what I read, you broke the law and are now upset that you didn’t get away with it?

3 11 2010
Anonymous

Most pigs, particularly those in small towns and suburbs, are bullies hiding behind a badge and a gun. The only reason they get away with so much is because they aren’t afraid of you due to the fact that they have a (gasp!) loaded firearm. Their weapon is the stimulus for their power trip. They can do whatever they want to you knowing that the law is on their side, and routinely falsify paperwork when it suits their purposes. The average citizen is almost helpless when it comes to lying pigs. If you run from them, they will more often than not find you. And if you try to fight with them, you will always lose in the end, even if you knock their asses out cold. Yes, the pigs run this country now, and you no longer have the freedom we used to have in doing whatever you want as long as it wasnt hurting anybody. Like someone posted before me, someone needs to give the pigs a REAL reason to be assholes to everyone.

31 12 2010
Ed

U broke the law and are pissed you got caught.

10 04 2012
anonymousss

you must be a cop.

14 02 2011
Joe

By your own account you were speeding. Wake up, & pay attention to your driving.

10 04 2012
anonymousss

you must be a cop

14 02 2011
Joe

One more thing , Anonymous you are a Dirt-bag..! Furthermore, I wonder if the anonymous Author has the rights to use the Clip art..

1 06 2011
Anonymous

Only girls can get away in situation like this. The girl still have to smile and probably flash something till cop melts and starts drulling.

11 10 2011
Matt

I think cops like that are trying to keep the “riff-raff” out. Think about it: if you get pulled over for not slowing down in time, think how rough they’ll be on you for a worse crime. If you don’t want to return, that’s okay with them. The only people willing to stay or visit will be the ones who can follow every law to the “T”. I think giving you the biggest fine he can helps his job security. Small towns have small budgets, so they’re going to want to keep the guy who can keep the town safe and make the town a little extra money at the same time.

17 10 2011
Lex

Did any of the jackasses on this bother to read this correctly? There were multiple signs of different speeds so closely together and not to mention IT’S A SMALL TOWN close to a highway? The cop was simply being an asshole, end of story. We all know the real victim is the guy who went through this harassment.

18 01 2012
Phil

Most cops are just tax collectors for the city/township/county. Generally, no excuse you can give them will keep them from writing out their tickets and doing their tax collector duties. Pair that up with a money hungry prosecutor and judge in the typical kangaroo court small town, and you have a wonderful money making machine.

10 04 2012
will

Agree. Small town cops are pretty messed up. And I agree with Phil. I recently got charged with a $89 ticket for taking a wrongful turn. but somehow, they managed to jack up the price to 439, when i pleaded not guilty and asked for no points since it was my 1st offense. the prosecutor told me, “well if you want points reduced, its gonna cost you extra.” I said “how much more?” and she replied “oh im not sure its up to the judge. I go to the judge and he spouts random numbers at me that somehow added up to 439. Furthermore, Im a student barely paying for college… I only noticed later that i got totally fooled and robbed by their justice facade and combination of the cop the judge and the prosecuter. (when i asked the judge what the total was. he became so hesitant. After reading this. I am 100% sure i was robbed and basically raped financially.

26 10 2013
Anonymous

draconian police

Leave a Reply

